Mission & Duties


To promote the educational, cultural, economic and general welfare of the public of the City through the preservation and protection of buildings, sites, monuments, structures, and areas of historic importance or interest within the City; to protect and preserve the heritage of the City by preserving and regulating historic landmarks, properties, and districts which reflect the elements of the City’s cultural, social, economic, political, archaeological, and architectural history; to preserve and enhance the environmental quality of the City’s neighborhoods; to establish and improve property values; and to foster economic development.

Member Structure & Organization

The Historic Preservation Commission consists of nine members who serve without pay. Members are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Council to three-year terms. Members of the Commission must be residents of Latah or Whitman Counties with a demonstrated interest in the historical and architectural development of the City. They are appointed with due regard to the proper representation of such fields as Archaeology, Architectural History, Architecture, Engineering, History, Landscape Architecture, Law and Urban Planning.  One Council member serves as a nonvoting, ex-officio member of the Commission.