Historic Preservation Commission

To promote the educational, cultural, economic and general welfare of the public of the City through the preservation and protection of buildings, sites, monuments, structures, and areas of historic importance or interest within the City; to protect and preserve the heritage of the City by preserving and regulating historic landmarks, properties, and districts which reflect the elements of the City’s cultural, social, economic, political, archaeological, and architectural history; to preserve and enhance the environmental quality of the City’s neighborhoods; to establish and improve property values; and to foster economic development.

Structure and Organization

The Historic Preservation Commission consists of nine members appointed by the Mayor with the advice and approval of the Council. Members of the Commission must be residents of Latah or Whitman Counties with a demonstrated interest in the historical and architectural development of the City. They are appointed with due regard to the proper representation of such fields as history, architectural history, architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, engineering, archaeology, and law. Members serve terms of three years. They serve without compensation, but may be reimbursed by the City for expenses incurred in connection with their duties. The members of the Commission hold office at the pleasure of the Mayor. One Council member serves as a nonvoting, ex-officio member of the Commission.


The Commission is authorized to:

  • Make recommendations to the Council regarding ordinances pertaining to historic preservation.
  • Conduct a survey of local historic properties, landmarks, and sites.
  • Recommend the acquisition of interests in historic properties, including adjacent or associated lands, by purchase, bequest, donation, or lease.
  • Recommend methods and procedures necessary to preserve, restore, maintain, and operate historic properties under the ownership or control of the City.
  • Recommend the lease, sale, other transfer or disposition of historic properties subject to rights of public access and upon such terms and conditions as will ensure the preservation of the property.
  • Cooperate with the federal, state, and other local governments in the pursuance of objectives of historic preservation.
  • Recommend contracting with the state or federal government, or any agency of either, or with any person, firm, cooperation, or organization to accomplish the purposes of this Chapter.
  • Participate in the conduct of land use, urban renewal, and other planning processes undertaken by Latah or Whitman County, the City, the state, or the federal government, and the agencies of those entities.
  • Provide information for the purposes of historic preservation to the City.
  • Promote and assist other agencies or groups in conducting an educational and interpretive program on historic preservation and historic properties in the City.

​Commission Roster

CommissionerTerm Expiration
Kate Geiger12/31/2018
Shirin Masoudi12/31/2019
Wendy McClure
Jack Porter12/31/2018
Nels Reese
Vice Chair
Chris Sokol12/31/2019
Erin Stoddart12/31/2017
​ ​​

Contact the Commission