Parks & Recreation Commission

The Parks and Recreation Commission consists of up to nine voting members, serving without pay. Members are appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the City Council. Not more than one member of the Commission may reside outside the City limits. The term of office of the Commission members is three years. Appointments are staggered to assure that the terms of not more than three members expire in any year. One Council member serves as a nonvoting ex officio member of the Commission. The members of the Commission meet and organize by electing one of their members chairman and such other officers as may be necessary, every year, on the first regularly scheduled meeting after January 1.

The Commission advises the Mayor and City Council on matters pertaining to public playgrounds, athletic fields, recreation facilities, and other recreation activities on any property owned or controlled by the City, and on other properties with the consent of owner and occupants. The Commission plans and recommends short and long-term improvements to provide for the recreation and cultural needs of the people. The Commission has the authority to make recommendations regarding Park and Recreation policies, programs, personnel and budget.

Commission Roster

CommissionerTerm Expiration
Damon Burton12/31/2018
Robert Cooper
Vice Chair
Mark Heinlein12/31/2019
Ted Kisha12/31/2018
Justin Minden12/31/2017
Susan R. Petersen12/31/2019
Susan Steele12/31/2017
Nancy Tribble
Sara Zaske12/31/2018

Contact the Commission