Historic Preservation Commission


To promote the educational, cultural, economic and general welfare of the public of the City through the preservation and protection of buildings, sites, monuments, structures, and areas of historic importance or interest within the City; to protect and preserve the heritage of the City by preserving and regulating historic landmarks, properties, and districts which reflect the elements of the City’s cultural, social, economic, political, archaeological, and architectural history; to preserve and enhance the environmental quality of the City’s neighborhoods; to establish and improve property values; and to foster economic development.

Member Structure & Organization

The Historic Preservation Commission consists of nine members who serve without pay. Members are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Council to three-year terms. Members of the Commission must be residents of Latah or Whitman Counties with a demonstrated interest in the historical and architectural development of the City. They are appointed with due regard to the proper representation of such fields as Archaeology, Architectural History, Architecture, Engineering, History, Landscape Architecture, Law and Urban Planning.  One Council member serves as a nonvoting, ex-officio member of the Commission.

Regular Meetings

  • 4:30 p.m.
  • 4th Thursday of every month
  • 206 E Third Street
    Mayor's Conference Room at City Hall
    Moscow, ID 83843

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Wendy McClure, Chair
    Term Expires: December 31, 2020
  • Nels Reese, Vice Chair
    Term Expires: December 31, 2022
  • Cynthia King
    Term Expires: December 31, 2022
  • Laurabeth Landis
    Term Expires: December 31, 2021
  • Jared Norman
    Term Expires: December 31, 2020

  • Jack Porter
    Term Expires: December 31, 2021
  • Steve Taylor
    Term Expires: December 31, 2021
  • Alexandra Tong
    Term Expires: December 31, 2022
  • Vacant
    Term Expires: December 31, 2020