Human Rights Commission

Mission & Duties

It is the duty of the Commission to affirm, encourage and initiate programs and services within the City designed to eliminate discrimination, improve human relations, and effectuate the spirit and intent of applicable human rights legislation. In these efforts, the Commission may enlist the support of community groups and public agencies.

  • The Commission is to recommend to the Mayor and the Council policies and programs with the objective of implementing Commission goals and objectives concerning the civil and human rights of persons and groups in the community.
  • The Commission shall work with City officials to ensure that the City continues to be a leader in extending equal opportunity to its inhabitants, including but not limited to: employment opportunities in city government, training for city jobs, equality of services provided, equality of all before the law, and equal treatment of all by holders of City licenses, contracts and privileges.
  • The Commission shall endeavor to ascertain the status of civil and human rights in the community.

Current Projects

The Human Rights Commission is proud to announce the Voices of Moscow project, a survey designed to determine what, if any, groups are underrepresented or misrepresented in the City of Moscow.  Click here for more information!

Member Structure & Organization

The Commission shall consist of from nine (9) to eleven (11) members serving without pay. Members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Mayor with the advice and subject to the approval of the Council. Members shall be selected without respect to political affiliation. The term of such member shall be for a period of three (3) years. An appointed member of the Commission must remain a resident of the City during his or her service on the Commission. The members shall hold office at the pleasure of the Mayor. Where possible, this Commission shall include at least one college student for a term of one (1) year. All other members serve a three (3) year term. The Commission may include at least one (1) non-voting high school student for a term of one (1) year and at least one non-voting county resident who does not reside within the City limits for a three (3) year term.

Regular Meetings

  • 4 p.m.
  • 3rd Tuesday of every month
  • 206 E Third Street
    Mayor's Conference Room at City Hall
    Moscow, ID 83843

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Ken Faunce, Chair
    Term Expires: December 31, 2020
  • Rebecca Tallent, Vice Chair
    Term Expires: December 31, 2020
  • Erin Agidius
    Term Expires: December 31, 2021
  • Jana Argersinger
    Term Expires: December 31, 2022
  • Rula Awwad-Rafferty
    Term Expires: December 31, 2021
  • Courtney LaFranchi
    Term Expires: December 31, 2022
  • Jesse Martinez
    Term Expires: December 31, 2021
  • Bekah MillerMacPhee
    Term Expires: December 31, 2022
  • David Pittsley
    Term Expires: December 31, 2020
  • Steven Simmons
    Term Expires: December 31, 2022
  • Elizabeth Stevens
    Term Expires: December 31, 2021
  • Defne Yuksel, HS Rep
    Term Expires December 31, 2022