Human Rights Commission

It is the duty of the Commission to affirm, encourage and initiate programs and services within the City designed to eliminate discrimination, improve human relations, and effectuate the spirit and intent of applicable human rights legislation. In these efforts, the Commission may enlist the support of community groups and public agencies.

The Commission is to recommend to the Mayor and the Council policies and programs with the objective of implementing Commission goals and objectives concerning the civil and human rights of persons and groups in the community.

The Commission shall work with City officials to ensure that the City continues to be a leader in extending equal opportunity to its inhabitants, including but not limited to: employment opportunities in city government, training for city jobs, equality of services provided, equality of all before the law, and equal treatment of all by holders of City licenses, contracts and privileges.

The Commission shall endeavor to ascertain the status of civil and human rights in the community.

Structure and Organization

The Commission shall consist of from nine (9) to eleven (11) members serving without pay. Members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Mayor with the advice and subject to the approval of the Council. Members shall be selected without respect to political affiliation. The term of such member shall be for a period of three (3) years. An appointed member of the Commission must remain a resident of the City during his or her service on the Commission. The members shall hold office at the pleasure of the Mayor. Where possible, this Commission shall include at least one college student for a term of one (1) year. All other members serve a three (3) year term. The Commission may include at least one (1) non-voting high school student for a term of one (1) year and at least one non-voting county resident who does not reside within the City limits for a three (3) year term.

For further information please contact James Fry, City Staff representative to the Human Rights Commission.

Commission Roster

CommissionerTerm Expiration
Erin Agidius12/31/2018
Jana Argersinger12/31/2019
Rula Awwad-Rafferty12/31/2018
Ari Carter
High School Non-voting Seat
Sophia Eck
College Seat
Ken Faunce
Sandra Kelly12/31/2017
Meredith Metsker12/31/2019
Bruce Pitman12/31/2019
Steven Simmons12/31/2019
Elizabeth Stevens12/31/2019
Rebecca Tallent
Vice Chair

Contact the Commission